How About "the Other Side" . . .

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Albatross

Albatross

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Interests:Enjoy slow moving sit-up-straight-like-a-man motorcycles, pipe smoking, and solo camping.

Posted 30 January 2007 - 11:59 PM

I love camping. Way out in the woods, and all by myself. I've had some tremendous experiences that don't seem to come when I'm with someone else or in a group. I believe this is because I'm too focussed on the others to notice, though things may be happening all around.

I was out two years ago. Spent the month of October in the woods. The area I was in was noted for bears. There had been warnings in the local newspaper that facing hybernation, the bears seemed more hungry than usual that year and were making trouble. The warning was that if you see a bear, go in your house.

Not knowing any of this I'd gone in with my street motorcycle heaped with camping gear. I wasn't far from a back road and eventual civilization, but unlike a car, the bike wouldn't offer a place to hide if a bear smelled food and came by to check things out. Of course my three man wall tent was pretty much useless as well.

I'd been out for some two weeks when my little radio was warning of a killing frost for the next several nights. I had a sleeping bag and 4 additional comforters, so I was not concerned. On the night of the first frost, I climbed in under that mighty pile and had settled myself on my left side, when a woman entered my tent, slid in under all those comforters and cuddled up with her forehead against my chin. I could actually smell her hair and feel a warmth radiating from her body.